Are you your illness or are you a wellness work-in-progress?

I’m extremely passionate about helping people help themselves.. to evolve the state that they are at beyond stagnancy and forward to something brighter and easier and more positive!

Being this passionate comes at a price sometimes though, and that is one of frustration. I see people as being far above and beyond their labels of illnesses or syndromes, and feel that each symptom (in particular the emotional ones, but also the physical) is a message of something seeking attention, or something out of balance.

Unfortunately, quite often (not always of course, but quite often), people focus on the label and this focus translates into acceptance of the symptom as a permanent part of who they are, not something that they can do anything about. “It is this disease that has control of me, there’s nothing I can do about it”.

This in turn can result in inaction. The symptom is then no longer a message; it becomes “just how it is”. And that is frustrating as an observer. It sets the sufferer up for being stuck with that symptom indefinitely.

I see the potential for lives to be made easier and metaphorical weights to be lifted. I see that each of us have the keys to use the messages to improve our lives for the better!

Step #1 is to give attention to the symptoms.

See every symptom as a message.

For example, I saw my chiropractor yesterday and she found my mid to lower back was out. I hadn’t fallen or bumped it physically. She used kinesiology and the associated muscle testing to find the connection between that misalignment and my view of myself as a parent; being hard/judgemental upon myself. This was no surprise to me at all. I literally need to ‘get off my own back’ here. And I expect to see her again and have something similar present itself until I soften my view on myself as a mum and acknowledge the positive gifts I share with my children.

There are many people and groups in history who have made strong connections with the physical to the emotional. Traditional Chinese Medicine has mapped organs to emotions, metaphysical beliefs map chakras to emotions. Then there are energy psychology methods such as Emotional Freedom Technique, clearing the emotional and resulting in changes in the physical. They are all just different versions and interpretations of the same constant:

Our bodies are talking to us!

Our state of physical wellness is inextricably linked to our emotional wellness!

You cannot (completely) treat an issue without addressing the emotional contributors. You cannot continue to ignore the emotional parts of you without there being side-effects.

By all means, accept your diagnosis, your illness, your disease (‘dis-ease’), your imbalance, but please USE it. Use it as a guide, a messenger, a helper to support you on your journey towards wellness and balance – balance of yourself as an evolvable being, created with mind, body and spirit.

Leave a Reply

