Good riddance, Groundhog Day!

Yesterday was a bad day. I was really tested by my children, I struggled with them, I fought with them, they seemed to tantrum and complain about everything, they seemed to have some sort of disagreement with each other or with me every few minutes, it seemed not much went smoothly at all. I was a bit of a wreck by the end of the day.

This morning I was woken by my 2.5 year old son in my room talking to me. Asking a zillion questions, making demands of me. Another day had begun for me before I was even fully conscious. Ugh.

I was lying underneath a woollen doona in bed, but I felt heavy and held down with dread and fear of how the day was beginning and how it would most likely end up. I did not want to get up.

I recognised that I had started this new day as if it was still the previous day. I was feeling and acting as though it was already the case. No wonder I didn’t want to get up.

I also thought about the concept of manifestation and how “acting as though you already have your goal” is a surefire way to manifest something. Well if I was acting/feeing/believing as though a day of shouting, tantrums and troublemaking was ahead of me, what do you suppose might have been in my future?

So I walked my talk. I tapped. And I tapped. And I tapped.

I tapped for everything I was feeling when I thought about the day ahead. All the negative self-talk. All the heavy feelings. All the negative beliefs. And when I felt clearer, more neutral, I tapped for how I wanted the day to go. How I wanted to feel!

And from this ~15 minutes of attention, it became easy to get out of bed. I didn’t have to talk myself into it or force myself up and moving. I didn’t have to sigh and accept a ‘Groundhog Day’ existence that I begrudged (which was how it felt before the tapping).

The kids responded in kind and were cooperative with getting ready to go out. We were earlier than usual and I didn’t need to shout or nag and complain.

I did the kindergarten run with more energy and enthusiasm and calm than I had the day before. And now (this afternoon) with the day over half over, the effects have persisted. My children have had their moments where they complained or argued or fought but my reactions were less “here we go again!” and more “what does my child need?”. I am relaxed and not worried or bothered on a personal level. I’m not wanting to throw my hands up in the air and quit. Today has already been a far better day than yesterday.

With such a positive outcome today, I’m going to give proper time and attention to how I begin my day, and what metaphorical blanket is hanging over me before I get up. I’ll shift any negative predictions I have, so I can embrace my little ones in the moment and for who they are, instead of how I don’t want them to be.

There is a lot of focus on manifesting in relation to future goals and successes, but what about daily manifestation? If we gave more attention to the every day, could the long term successes come easier perhaps?

Let’s all start the day: expecting the best, accepting that we don’t need to control everything for it to be okay, that we will manage with what comes our way and go easily with the flow, that the outcome will be one that is perfect for each of us. And we know that it will easily be the case because we will tap for it, shifting any resistance and imprinting it upon our energy body!

Leave a Reply

