Breaking the Sleep Curse

I’ve decided that my household might be cursed in terms of sleep. My 2 year old son doesn’t seem to sleep at all, preferring to busy himself with his toy cars and books even sometimes in the middle of the night, then waking up early the following day, with boundless energy. My 4 year old daughter delays sleep and comes up with excuses not to go to bed and then the following day tries to sleep in and complains of being tired. I am just like my daughter. My husband is just like our son. Or maybe the other way around! I have looked at my own sleep from a few different angles but the problem persists. So let’s try and break the sleep curse, energy style.

I am faced with a dragon. It is at least four or five times my height, it is huge! Green-tinged, and angry, swishing its tail and gnashing sharp teeth.

I’m standing on unstable ground, rocks that shift and move and crumble underfoot.

The sky is dark, grey clouds, red-tinged sky.

I am scared, wondering what I’m meant to do here and suspect I’m about to be eaten. I have a sword and thin armour but not much else that would do any good!

The dragon lunges forward with a growl that’s so heavy it sounds as though it’s coming from within the earth. He comes at me as if to bite me or eat me. Do dragons eat people? No time to think. I swiftly dodge to the side and go behind him and quickly climb onto his back.

He shifts and moves and I hold tightly to fin-like protrusions on his back. He tries to twist his head and neck around to be able to snap at me with his teeth but where I’m sitting and how far he can twist means I am safe for now. Not completely relaxed or comfortable, but cautiously safe! He gets frustrated and writhes more violently, his noises also getting louder.

He lets out a long and ear-blastingly loud bellow before stretching out his wings, flapping them with huge whooshing sounds and lifting himself with me off the ground.

So high up we are! I would try and touch clouds but am to scared I’ll fall down to a ground that I can’t even see. I cling tightly to his fins and neck.

After flying for some time, he comes down to land in a grassed area. The weather is completely different, a blue sky and sunshine! My husband is there waiting while we land! He doesn’t seem perturbed by the fact I am riding on a dragon, and seems to be exchanging a nod in greeting?!

I climb down and rush to where my husband is and look back to the dragon. It is no longer a dragon standing there, but my brown horse from Sanctuary in its place. I approach it and stroke it gently, taking the reins in hand.

I take my husband’s hand in the other hand and walk toward a path that leads us to a forest that I am familiar with.

To be continued? (this dragon rider can’t stay awake)

Leave a Reply

