Manifesting gold medals.. or not?

So I’ll let you in on a secret.. I’m not interested in the Olympic Games. I haven’t watched more than 5 minutes of it and I’m not setting alarms and waking early for the events that I’m interested in. Because I’m just not interested in it.

My interest WAS captured however, by a news article about an Australian swimmer, Emily Seebohm, and her quest for a gold medal. The article wrote how she was drawn into Twitter and Facebook comments about her upcoming success and felt that it detracted from her performance.

So my understanding about manifesting and achieving goals is that when you get to a point where you believe that you already have what you’re aiming for, then it manifests.

I read this: “I guess when you swim that fast in the heat, then people put pressure and more pressure on you, saying, ‘Oh, you’re going to get the gold.’. Maybe I just started believing that and just thought I’d already won by the time I had swum and I hadn’t even swum yet.” …and I wondered how that fit into the theory of manifesting.

She believed she’d won, before she’d swum, yet didn’t win. Hmmmm.

What also drew my attention was: “I had never been this nervous but at the Olympics you’re going to be as nervous as you are ever going to be.

Okay, I’m not in her shoes (and probably never will be!), but I don’t think that someone who truly  believes they have won a gold medal would be nervous. Maybe nervous excitement? But if they really truly felt that it was ‘in the bag’, what’s to be nervous about?

And if you go back to that first paragraph, read the words “pressure and more pressure”.

She didn’t believe she had already won. She believed that other people believed she’d already won. She felt their pressure of expectations upon her and perhaps that she couldn’t match up. It is understandable.

Another quote: “I have no idea [what went wrong]. I know that I was super nervous today, so nervous I couldn’t even eat, so I’m sure that had something to do with it. That’s no excuse. I went in there and raced it and didn’t come out on top.

She was so nervous, paralysed with nerves. More nervous than usual. She couldn’t even eat. That sounds like fear. Fear of not being able to do it. Of letting down her country and supporters. Of not performing.

So what did she manifest? A silver medal. Which is admirable and an amazing accomplishment, but from an energy perspective, I do have to wonder if the Olympic team used EFT and tapped for “fear” and reversals associated with meeting the expectations of the public and their selves, how things might change?

Leave a Reply

